David's Blog

Mostly Hobby Stuff

Fluid Integration and Smoke

with 2 comments

Over the last few days I have been adding support for PhysX fluids to my particle engine, in addition to a few enhancement+fixes to the particle engine itself. The big advantage of the fluid integration is not that it provides SPH(which is nice), but that it provides fast and robust collision detection and interaction with physical objects.

Anyway below I show a couple of screen shots of a small demo level I made, the first is the demo running(it runs at 60 to 30fps depending on resolution) and the second shows the editor with my node based particle editor. With respect to performance, it is mostly fill rate limited(unsurprisingly), I really should investigate using a low resolution render target for low frequency objects.

Some things I added to improve the quality of the results:

  • I rotate the billboard normals away from the centre of the particle, to create a fake volumetric effect. This vastly improves the quality of the lighting for particles. (not sure where this idea came from, I think I read about it somewhere, I just can’t remember where…:-(
  • I added particle sorting, surprisingly, most of the time this is not even needed for many smoke like effects(partly due to the implicit sorting due to emission order perhaps).
  • I used the relative screen space depth to fade the edges of the particles near intersection. This is done with a bunch of shader nodes, I really should combine these into one node since it is quite a common operation.
  • I use my own emitter, not the one built into PhysX, this allows detailed control of the emission parameters(eg distribution of particles within the emission cone etc)
  • I expose more or less all of the fluid settings, however I havent gotten around to sorting them and allowing distributions to be assigned to appropriate parameters.

Written by therealdblack

March 20, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Graphics, Hobby Game, XNA

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, about your PhysX fluid integration to XNA. Are you using a wrapper library? I am trying to implement a similar thing, but unsuccessful so far. Can you point me the right direction?

    Regards, Rifat.

    Rifat Aras

    May 14, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    • Yes, but it is my own custom wrapper library. I suggest doing a search for other wrappers, or creating your own(doesnt take long).

      therealdblack

      May 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm


Leave a Reply

